Week 6

1.What did you learn this week in class?

This week I learned about a lot of online education, namely udacity and udemy. I have been looking at developing my photoshop skills and I think udemy offers quick easy classes on how to accomplish that goal.

2. How do you plan on applying what you learned?

I plan on taking photoshop and then put that on my resume as technology that I know how to use. I realize I might not use photoshop in many careers, but having it on my resume will sound better than not having it.

3.What did you learn from a peer?

This week i learned about the following (and it was from the instructor):

Camtasia

  • closed captioning is preferred when it can be enabled via you tube, do not burn it on
  • cursor effect…if it is video recorded on camtasia…that way the user can tell where you clicked

Natural reader

  • convert PDF to mp3/audio

Mac Audio

  • accessibility
  • preferences
  • can transfer audio to text
  • option add to iTunes as spoken ad

Academics

  • EdShelf (educational tools)
  • Better Lesson (lesson exchange)
  • kahoots -quiz racing game

Poll everywhere

  • text polling
  • real time

Audacity

  • free audio recording and editing
  • can select noise cancelling by letting it record for a little first then selecting that audio and click NOISE REDUCTION

OER (Open education resources)/Moocs (massively open online courses)

  • free education from MIT and other school
  • open enrollment
  • Moocs allow you to take classes, while OER are open and you do it yourself
  • MOOC list
  • udacity (really consider the free classes)
  • udemy (photoshop)

Free images

Piktochart

  • infographs/create your own

Leave a comment